March-April 2017 Wrap Up

Hello!

So apparently I haven’t actually posted on here for another 6 months. I really don’t have much of an excuse aside from changing courses once again, and I am now doing a science course and have made two friends in my class which is great!

I have read a total of 29 books since I posted my last update, but in this wrap up I am just going to be talking about the 7 books that I have read in the past two months as I can still remember a fair amount of them clearly.

  • More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. This book focuses on a character called Aaron Soto who is considering undergoing a mind-altering procedure to wipe certain aspects of his memories. The book talks a lot about his search for happiness, and the relationships he has, and also about his grief due to the death of his father. I found the concept of this book interesting, especially the idea of the mind-altering procedure and the LGBT aspects, however I struggled to get fully immersed in the book, and felt somewhat emotionally removed from the characters in it. I began to feel more interested as the plot started to unravel a little more, but as this seemed to happen nearer to the end of the book, I only ended up giving his book three stars. However, I am interested to read more of this authors works, as I have watched interviews with him and he seems pretty wonderful.
  •  Jackdaw Summer by David Almond. This is a story about a little boy called Liam, and begins with him and his friend discovering a baby left alone in an abandoned farm house. The story focuses mainly on violence and morality, and although it was classed on the back as for ‘younger readers’, I personally still felt very disturbed by it at times, even as a 19 year old. I have been gradually trying to work my way through this author’s books after reading Skellig and absolutely loving it. Overall, I gave this book four stars as I would not necessarily say that I was always completely gripped by the story, but yet it was hard-hitting and I think it touched upon some important themes.
  • The Poison Apples by Lily Archer. This is about three girls named Alice, Reena and Molly who all have ‘evil’ stepmothers, and when they all meet at a posh boarding school, they come up with a plan for revenge in the form of a group called ‘The Poison Apples.’ I thought that this book was wonderful, I loved all three of the girls, and the friendship that formed between them all made me really happy. I would have to say that my favourite character was probably Molly though, because with her obsession with the dictionary and her wild curly hair she was absolutely adorable, and I honestly wish that I could be friends with her. I gave this book five stars, and I am so sad that there is not a sequel and that the author has not written any other books.
  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. This follows a boy named Clay as he listens to a series of tapes that were recorded by his classmate and first love, Hannah Baker, before she committed suicide. In these she gives each of her reasons as to how she came to ending her own life. I found this book quite interesting, and I could sympathise with Hannah, and also felt empathy for Clay. The whole premise of listening to a series of reasons for someone’s suicide sounded like an interesting plot, which is what drew me in, alongside the hype that has surrounded this book. However, I did sometimes feel that Hannah was placing the blame of her suicide on the other people, and not taking any responsibility for herself, as well as occasionally coming across as a little whiny. For this reason I will not be watching the Netflix adaptation of Thirteen Reasons Why, and I gave this book four stars.
  • Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded by Hannah Hart. I cannot describe how much I love Hannah Hart, honestly. She’s a wonderful human being and she makes me smile so much. This book is a memoir of hers from when she was a young child until where she is now, and focuses a lot on her family, as well as her own personal growth and coming out journey.  Parts of this book were incredibly sad, and quite heartbreaking, however there are also a lot of positive messages and lessons in there too and it gives such an amazing insight into Hannah as a person, and also into the people around her. I gave this book five stars.
  • I’m Not Scared by Niccolo Ammaniti. This story follows a young boy named Michele, and his friends and adults surrounding him in a tiny village community in Italy over the course of one summer. The main story focuses around a huge discovery that Michele makes, and all of the consequences of that discovery. It places a strong emphasis on morality, and also on the difference aspects of good/bad in people. I found myself really pulled into this story, and could clearly picture everything that was being described. I also found it to be really disturbing at times, and it is a story that I think will stay with me for a long time. I gave this book five stars.
  • The Misbegotten by Katherine Webb. This story follows a number of different characters, most prominently a woman named Rachel Croften who leaves her position of being a governess, and moves to Bath after marrying a wine merchant, and also a servant named Starling. Rachel’s arrival to Bath, and her introduction to those within it bring up a lot of dark hidden secrets from the past, and the novel is almost a mystery in the way that you are kind of kept guessing until the very end, where it all unravels. This book was amazing, the characters are so whole and believable, and I found myself strongly sympathising with both Rachel and Starling, and the mystery kept me reading and reading because I so desperately wanted to know what had happened. I am looking forward to reading all of the author’s other works. I gave this book five stars.

I am currently reading Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky, which is a project that have been working on for a number of weeks now, and also Gut Symmetries by Jeanette Winterson. I shall update on how I feel about these hopefully in next month’s wrap up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

