That Girl From Nowhere by Dorothy Koomson Review

Reading Dates: 21/07/16 – 02/08/16

Rating: 3 stars

That Girl From Nowhere is an adult fiction story about a woman named Smitty, who was adopted as a baby with nothing more to link her to her birth parents than a butterfly-painted box that she was given to sleep in as a baby. When she moves to Brighton, the place of her birth, with her Mum that adopted her as a baby, having just split up with her partner of twelve years, she begins a journey to discover the truth about her childhood and those around her.

I find it difficult to sum up my feelings about this book, in part due to my resistance to say anything that I don’t like about Dorothy Koomson’s work because of my love of her books from when I younger. Like all of her other books that I have read I found the character development of this book to be amazing, with each of the characters having very separate, whole, and believable identities. The characters and their own storylines have kept me thinking about them even when I am not reading the book, and I became quite attached to the majority of the characters including those who were not particularly favourable or prominent in the book. My favourite character was probably Smitty as I found her vulnerability relatable at times, whilst still being funny, and overall someone who I would like to be friends with if I were to meet her in real life.

One of my favourite things about this book was that it dealt with the topic of adoption, which is not something that I generally have read about much. It was interesting to get multiple perspectives from Smitty, who had been adopted, as well as from the birth parents, siblings, and her adoptive parents.

The writing style in the book was very smooth and easy to read, however, I did find that when I put the book down I was not necessarily particularly excited to pick it back up again, which may be in part due to the fact that I found the beginning of the book up to around the last quarter of the book slightly slow, but it may also be more to do with the mood I was in when reading the book.

Overall, this book was enjoyable and addressed an important topic which has not been dealt with too often in the books that I have read. I would recommend this book to older teens or adults who enjoy realistic fiction that deals a lot with the family.

Leave a Reply

